Innovations

Every instrument built at EBG-Instruments is crafted with great diligence to the highest standards of precision. But we don’t stop there: We are constantly experimenting with new materials, parts, and manufacturing processes, making us a leader in the industry. Because we aren’t afraid of the new, our instruments push the envelope both in terms of handling, and sound.

Made from CNC milled bell brass

Fatsus Bass Bridge

Discontent with the losses in sound transmission common in zinc alloy die-cast bass bridges, in 2020 we started using our own bass bridge at EBG-Instruments.

The specially designed 3D bass bridge combines full functionality made of solid and CNC milled bell brass with unique simplicity. Due to the massive bell brass and the precise CNC production, the sound is transmitted directly and clearly to the body without the losses that are common with zinc die-cast bridges.

This leads to a clear sound dynamic and a significantly better sustain of the instrument.

Due to the different depths of the recesses on the stainless steel Nuts, the bridge is adapted to a 12" fingerboard radius as standard. The fingerboard radius is compensated for by the different depths of the recesses on the string rest of the bridge. Thanks to the height adjustment and the rotating stainless steel Nuts, the bass bridge can of course also be used with other fingerboard radii.

The bridges are available for 4-string and 5-string basses and in black or nickel, each in silk gloss. If ordered individually, the bridges are delivered in an elegant magnetic folding box including screws and keys.

The bass bridge is 100% made in Germany.

Aluminum Center Block

Our signature aluminum center block, which is CNC milled from a solid block, enables us to build instruments that sound exactly like we want them to: with impressive sustain, clear and powerful sound, and a fast attack.

At first glance, aluminum in instrument construction is nothing new. It has been used mainly as a neck material by a few instrument makers in the past. The vibration behavior, the rigidity, the neutral and fast sound transmission are just a few of the many advantages of this material.

The relatively low density for metal also makes this material attractive, but of course, the non-ferrous metal aluminum, despite its low density of 2.7 kg/dm³, is significantly heavier than normal tonewood and often feels quite cool when playing the guitar. That is why EBG-Instruments deliberately refrains from using aluminum in the construction of its instrument necks and body wings. We only use it where the material increases the sustain and attack of the instrument and does not change the haptic or feel.

We managed to keep the overall weight of our instruments the same, even when adding the aluminum center block, as we milled out the body: because of the webs and walls, we can keep it very stable, free of distortion and light. Thanks to the wooden body wings, all of our instruments feel classic, familiar, and warm when they are played.

The aluminum alloy that EBG-Instruments uses is cold-rolled and not cast. In contrast to cast aluminum, this leads to a significantly more homogeneous density without air inclusions that would attenuate the sound signal and thus change it. These changes in tone and the loss of sustain due to air inclusions that we managed to avoid are known, for example, from guitar bridges or bass bridges made of die-cast zinc.

Through countless trials and tests, we have found a great aluminum alloy with many advantages. The aluminum center block forms the heart between the neck, Nut, strings, bridge, and body. This ensures a quick and neutral sound cycle when generating the tone.

Many customers ask us whether the wood or the type of wood on the body still plays a role. Of course, the wood or the type of wood still plays a role in our instruments. The aluminum on the center block behaves neutrally. It just swings very quickly. You can of course control the character of the instrument by choosing different body woods, neck woods, and fingerboards. We would be happy to advise you on the selection and your desired configuration.

Carbon Instead of Wood – A Worthy Supplement

Carbon Necks

EBG-Instruments has developed a hand-laminated carbon fiber neck: Carbon, with its networked, braided, and multi-layer construction, not only has a weight advantage when compared to wood but also forms an incredibly stiff and distortion-free component.

Wood has been successfully and sustainably produced and used in instrument making for centuries. The advantages of wood are obvious and do not have to be proven again. However, there are now just as suitable modern materials that are not necessarily fundamentally better, but do have their advantages in detail, and might therefore be used advantageously in instrument making.

Carbon, for example, is such a material. It sounds similar to wood, and its very special properties make it extremely interesting for instrument making.

Carbon has very high rigidity and can withstand very high mechanical loads. Due to its networked, braided, and multi-layer construction, it not only has a weight advantage with a very thin construction but also forms an incredibly stiff and distortion-free component. Especially with bass necks, the noticeably higher rigidity in contrast to wood is quite noticeable. In addition, carbon has an extremely low coefficient of thermal expansion and is less sensitive to weathering than wood.

EBG-Instruments has managed to use special fillers to make the carbon bass necks which aren’t any heavier than a wooden neck, but much more rigid and modern. For fine adjustment of the neck curvature, EBG-Instruments always uses a “double-action” truss rod in the carbon neck, despite the high rigidity. Thus, despite the high rigidity, it is always guaranteed that the desired neck curvature (even with different fingerboard materials) can be set and readjusted exactly according to customer requirements.

In addition, every EBG-Instruments carbon neck is made of real CFRP and is hand-laminated in multiple layers and created as a carbon fiber neck.

The best of both worlds

Carbon reinforcements in guitar and bass necks made of tonewood

To give necks made from tonewood higher strength and better tuning stability, EBG-Instruments adds carbon reinforcements.

Despite the most careful choice of tonewoods, it happens that the instrument neck is deformed disproportionately due to very high string tension.

Especially with long and thin necks, the curvature of the neck, particularly in the lower area, cannot always be corrected to a symmetrical bend with the truss rod. In the lower neck area, the neck foot is screwed to the body, and due to the long lever arm of the instrument neck, this is where the neck kinks the most due to the design. The string tension varies depending on the type of instrument, the number of strings, and the thickness of the strings between 45 and 120 kg.

That is why EBG-Instruments adds carbon reinforcements in the lower neck area of ​​bass and guitar necks made from tonewoods. These not only increase the axial section modulus of the neck but also increase the neutrality against known external influences such as temperature and humidity. This also gives the instruments significantly better tuning stability.

Bones in natural cream color? Not really

Black Bone Nut

No, it doesn’t always have to be cream-colored

Our special process allows us to turn the normally cream-colored bones black. The bones retain their self-lubricating properties. That was very important to us. Depending on the design and color design, it can be more appropriate and beautiful if the bone appears in black. Especially with darker colors, the blackened bone looks really cool.

Check out our instruments:

See all
For Sale
For Sale
EBG-6 TR LED Jigsaw Kambala
Jigsaw Body · Guitar
Built to Order
Built to Order
EBG-5 Jigsaw Rusty
Jigsaw Body · 5-String Bass Guitar
For Sale
For Sale
EBG-5 Vicious Orion
Vicious Body · 5-String Bass Guitar
For Sale
For Sale
EBG-5 Vicious Racing Green
Vicious Body · 5-String Bass Guitar

Innovationen

Jedes unserer Instrumente wird mit höchster Präzision gefertigt. Aber wir gehen noch weiter: Wir experimentieren ständig mit neuen Materialien, Bauteilen und Fertigungsprozessen und bleiben so an der Spitze des Handwerks. Weil wir keine Angst vor Neuem haben, schaffen wir Instrumente, die die Grenzen dessen Sprengen, was bisher an Handling und Klang möglich war.

Gefertig aus CNC-gefrästem Glockenmessing

Fatsus Bassbrücke

Unzufrieden mit den Klangverlusten die bei Zinkdruckgussbrücken üblich sind, haben wir 2020 begonnen unsere eigene Bassbrücke zu verbauen.

Die eigens entworfene 3D-Bassbrücke vereint vollste Funktionalität aus massivem und CNC gefrästem Glockenmessing mit einzigartiger Schlichtheit. Durch das massive Glockenmessing und die präzise CNC Fertigung wird der Klang ohne die bei Zinkdruckgussbrücken üblichen Verluste direkt und klar auf den Korpus übertragen.

Dies führt zu einer klaren Klangdynamik und einem deutlich besseren Sustain des Instruments.

Durch die unterschiedlichen Tiefen der Aussparungen an den Edelstahl-Saitenreitern ist der Steg standardmäßig an einen 12" Griffbrettradius angepasst. Der Griffbrettradius wird durch die unterschiedlich tiefen Aussparungen an der Saitenauflage der Brücke kompensiert.  Dank der Höhenverstellung und den drehbaren Edelstahl Saitenreiter kann die Bassbrücke selbstverständlich auch bei anderen Griffbrettradien verwendet werden.

Die Stege sind für 4-Saiter- und 5-Saiter-Bässe und in Schwarz oder Nickel, jeweils in Seidenglänzend erhältlich. Falls einzeln geordert, werden die Brücken in einer edlen Magnetfaltbox inklusive Schrauben und Schlüssel geliefert.

Die Bassbrücke ist zu 100% in Deutschland hergestellt.

Aluminum Centerblock

Durch unseren charakteristischen Aluminium Centerblock, der aus einem massiven Block CNC-gefräst wird, können wir Instrumente bauen, die genau so klingen, wie wir es möchten: Mit beeindruckendem Sustain, klarem und kraftvollen Klang und schnellem Attack.

Aluminium im Instrumentenbau ist erst Mal nichts Neues. Es wurde schon in der Vergangenheit von ein paar wenigen Instrumentenbauern vorwiegend als Halsmaterial eingesetzt.  Das Schwingverhalten, die Steifigkeit, die neutrale und schnelle Tonübertragung sind nur einige von vielen Vorteilen dieses Werkstoffes.

Die für ein Metall relativ geringe Dichte macht diesen Werkstoff natürlich attraktiv, aber trotzdem ist das Nichteisenmetall Aluminium trotz seiner geringen Dichte von 2,7 kg/dm³ deutlich schwerer als gewöhnliches Tonholz und fühlt sich beim spielen der Gitarre oft recht kühl an. Deshalb verzichtet EBG-Instruments beim Bau seiner Instrumentenhälse und der Korpusflügel bewusst auf Aluminium. Wir setzen es nur dort ein, wo der Werkstoff das Sustain und das Attack des Instruments steigert, und nicht die Haptik und das Spielgefühl verändert.

Eine Gesamtgewichtssteigerung unsere Instrumente haben wir durch den Aluminium Centerblock nicht, da wir den Korpus ausfräsen, und durch Stege und Wandungen sehr stabil, verzugsfrei und leicht halten können. Durch die hölzernen Korpusflügel, fühlen sich all unsere Instrumente beim spielen klassisch, gewohnt und warm an. 

Die Aluminiumlegierung die EBG-Instruments verwendet, ist kaltgewalzt und nicht gegossen. Im Gegensatz zu Aluminiumguss haben wir somit eine deutlich homogenere Dichte ohne Lufteinschlüsse, die das Tonsignal dämpfen und somit verändern würden. Die Tonänderung und die Einbuße von Sustain durch Lufteinschlüsse, die wir so verhindern können, kennt man zum Beispiel von Gitarren- oder Bassbrücken aus Zinkdruckguss.

Durch unzählige Versuche und Tests haben wir eine tolle Aluminiumlegierung mit vielen Vorteilen gefunden. Der Aluminium Centerblock bildet das Herzstück zwischen Hals, Sattel, Saiten, Brücke und Korpus. Somit ist ein schneller und neutraler Klangkreis bei der Tonerzeugung gewährleistet.

Viele Kunden fragen uns, ob denn das Holz, oder die Holzart am Korpus überhaupt noch eine Rolle spielt. Ja, das Holz, bzw. die Holzart spielt bei unseren Instrumenten noch eine Rolle. Das Aluminium am Center Block verhält sich neutral – es ist nur sehr schnell schwingfreudig. Den Charakter des Instruments können Sie aber natürlich durch die Wahl verschiedener Korpushölzer, Halshölzer und Griffbretter steuern. Sehr gerne beraten wir Sie bei der Auswahl und ihrer Wunschkonfiguration.

Carbon statt Holz – Eine tolle Ergänzung

Hälse aus Carbon

EBG-Instruments hat einen handlaminierten Hals aus Carbon entwickelt: Durch seine vernetzte, geflochtene und mehrschichtige Bauweise, hat es bei sehr dünner Bauweise nicht nur einen Gewichtsvorteil, sondern bildet zudem eine unheimlich steife und verzugsfreie Komponente.

Seit Jahrhunderten wird Holz im Instrumentenbau erfolgreich – und mittlerweile auch nachhaltig produziert – verwendet. Die Vorteile von Holz liegen auf der Hand und müssen sich nicht erneut beweisen. Allerdings gibt es mittlerweile ebenso geeignete moderne Werkstoffe, die nicht grundsätzlich besser, aber im Detail ihre Vorzüge haben, und daher im Instrumentenbau vorteilhaft genutzt werden können.

Carbon beispielsweise ist solch ein Werkstoff. Er klingt ähnliche wie Holz, und ist durch seine sehr besonderen Eigenschaften hochinteressant für den Instrumentenbau.

Er besitzt eine sehr hohe Steifigkeit, und ist mechanisch sehr stark belastbar. Durch seine vernetzte, geflochtene und mehrschichtige Bauweise, hat er bei sehr dünner Bauweise nicht nur einen Gewichtsvorteil, sondern bildet zudem eine unheimlich steife und verzugsfreie Komponente. Gerade bei Basshälsen, ist die merklich höhere Steifigkeit im Gegensatz zu Holz durchaus bemerkbar. Zudem hat Carbon einen äußerst geringen Wärmeausdehnungskoeffizient und ist witterungsunempfindlicher als Holz.   

EBG-Instruments hat es durch spezielle Füllstoffe geschafft, Carbon Basshälse, die nicht schwerer als einen Holzhals, aber deutlich steifer und moderner sind herzustellen. Zur Feinjustage der Halskrümmung verbaut EBG-Instruments trotz der hohen Steiffigkeit immer einen „double-action“ Trussrodstab im Carbonhals.  Somit ist trotz der hohen Steifigkeit jederzeit gewährleistet, die gewünschte Halskrümmung (auch bei unterschiedlichen Griffbrettmaterialien) exakt nach Kundenwunsch einzustellen und nachzustellen.

Zudem besteht jeder EBG-Instruments Carbonhals aus echtem CFK und wird in Handarbeit mehrlagig laminiert und als Sichtcarbonhals erschaffen. 

Das Beste beider Welten

Carbonversteifungen in Gitarren- und Basshälsen aus Tonholz

Um Hälse aus Tonholz stärker und stimmstabiler zu machen, baut EBG-Instruments Carbonverstärkungen ein.

Trotz sorgfältigster Wahl der Tonhölzer, kommt es vor, dass sich der Instrumentenhals durch seine Bauform bei sehr hoher Saitenspannung unproportional verformt.

Vor allem bei langen und dünnen Hälsen ist die Halskrümmung vor allem am unteren Bereich nicht immer mit dem Halsstab zu einer symmetrischen Biegung korrigierbar.  Im unteren Halsbereich ist der Halsfuß an den Korpus geschraubt, und durch den langen Hebelarm des Instrumentenhalses knickt konstruktiv bedingt der Hals dort am meisten ein. Der Saitenzug variiert je nach Art des Instruments, der Saitenanzahl und Saitendicke zwischen 45 und 120 kg.

Deshalb baut EBG-Instruments im unteren Halsbereich bei Bass- und Gitarrenhälsen aus Klangholz Carbonverstärkungen mit ein. Diese erhöhen nicht nur das axiale Widerstandsmoment des Halses, sondern steigern auch die Neutralität gegenüber den bekannten äußeren Einflüssen wie Temperatur und Luftfeuchtigkeit. Zudem werden die Instrumente dadurch auch deutlich stimmstabiler.

Knochensattel in creme weiß? Nicht wirklich...

Schwarzer Knochensattel

Nein, es muss nicht immer cremefarben sein

Unser spezielles Verfahren, ermöglicht es uns, die normalerweise cremefarbenen Knochen schwarz zu färben. Die Knochen behalten dabei ihre selbstschmierende Eigenschaft. Das war uns ganz wichtig.

Je nach Ausführung und farblichen Gestaltung kann es passender und schöner sein, wenn der Knochen in schwarz erscheint. Vor allem bei dunkleren Farben, sieht der geschwärzte Knochen wirklich sehr cool aus.

Unsere Instrumente:

Alle ansehen
Auf Bestellung
Auf Bestellung
EBG-5 Jigsaw Flamed Petrol
Jigsaw Body · Fünfsaitiger Bass
Zu Verkaufen
Zu Verkaufen
EBG-6 Jigsaw Flamed Green
Jigsaw Body · Gitarre
Zu Verkaufen
Zu Verkaufen
EBG-5 Vicious Racing Green
Vicious Body · Fünfsaitiger Bass
Zu Verkaufen
Zu Verkaufen
EBG-5 Jigsaw Flamed Brown
Jigsaw Body · Fünfsaitiger Bass